Kelloggs Cards

Kelloggs Cards

Friday, September 9, 2016

AL Rookies of the Year and Kellogg's Baseball Cards

Time to check the AL Rookies of the Year and how they fared in Kellogg's sets.

Here are the 1969 to 1982 ROY winners -

1969 - Lou Piniella
1970 - Thurman Munson
1971 - Chris Chambliss
1972 - Carlton Fisk
1973 - Al Bumbry
1974 - Mike Hargrove
1975 - Fred Lynn
1976 - Mark Fidrych
1977 - Eddie Murray
1978 - Lou Whitaker
1979 - John Castino & Alfredo Griffin
1980 - Joe Charboneau
1981 - Dave Righetti
1982 - Cal Ripken

Wow, that's a lot better list than the NL winners.

Pinella had to wait until 1973 to get a card.  He also got into the 1975 and 1977 sets.

Munson had to wait until 1976.  He then appeared in 1977 and 1978.  I would have loved to see him in the 1971 set.

Chambliss had to wait until 1977.  He appeared in three more sets.

Carlton Fisk first appeared in 1973 after his ROY award.  He showed up four more times.

Al Bumbry had a nice career but no Kellogg's cards.

Mike Hargrove appeared four times but not until 1976.

Fred Lynn appeared in 1976 after his ROY/MVP season.  He showed up four more times.

Mark Fidrych also showed up after his ROY season.  That was his only appearance in a Kellogg's set.

Eddie Murray also appeared after being ROY.  He appeared in five of the last six sets.

Lou Whitaker had a great career but also didn't get a Kellogg's card.

Alfredo Griffin - see Lou Whitaker.  No Kellogg's card.

John Castino got into the 1982 Kellogg's set.

Joe Charboneau got into the 1981 set after being ROY.  That was it for him.

Dave Righetti didn't get a Kellogg's card and neither did Cal Ripken.

Four players got a Kellogg's card in the year after being ROY.  Ten of the 15 winners got a Kellogg's card at some point.

1 comment:

  1. Nice list!! Some sad careers, though, like Charnoneau and Castino--and, of course, Fidrych.